Key stage 1

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 includes children who are 5–6 and 6–7 years of age (years 1 and 2 of the primary phase). It follows the National Curriculum, a framework intended to make sure that schools provide a broad and well-balanced curriculum for all pupils, supporting them to build essential skills, knowledge and attitudes and realise their full potential. The National Curriculum is split into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life. For example, Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

Key Stage 1 Assessment

Assessment is an important part of the National Curriculum and National Curriculum levels can give an indication of what an average child would be expected to achieve at various points in school. Teachers should use their knowledge of individual children in deciding which adaptations to make, bearing in mind the nature and level of support that these Key Stage 1 children receive as part of normal classroom practice. Every school values the support of the parents and your encouragement to ensure that your child makes good progress in Key Stage 1. Your child’s school may cover these subjects under different names, and may teach more than one subject together under the same name. This is left up to individual schools, as long as they are covering the National Curriculum for Key Stage 1.

Key Stage 1 Literacy and Maths

Literacy and mathematics are frequently in the news. These are important core elements of the National Curriculum for Key Stage 1. Evidence has shown that children learn reading, writing and maths best when there is separate time set aside for them. This is why most schools teach a literacy hour and mathematics lesson daily. Your child’s school will be able to give you more information about Key Stage 1 and the National Curriculum and what it recommends for children at different ages.

Click here for a free Key Stage 1 Pack